This was one of the most exciting projects I’ve ever worked on. I wanted to present something more song based and accessible. I wanted to create something that moved through every emotion and left the listener satisfied, curious, and left with a sense of wonder. I also wanted to create something personal and as cliché as it sounds, from the heart.

The album starts off minimal dark and bouncy. Track 1, Remain, was something inspired by my favorite quote from the Frank Herbert’s Dune: “I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

It then moves to Broken Sun which is my interpretation of the state of humanity facing climate change. The next song, Breath of Shadows is about metamorphosis through desire. I merged my voice with a synth. Repeating the jumbled phrases, “I want it all. We want it all. You want it all”

As the album progresses, it takes a turn at Soothe (which is really a song about passion) to downtempo and release.

One of the songs I’m most excited about is Winter Leaves which I wrote with the incredibly talented David Peter Mellish. This is a song about death and the beauty of being a place of acceptance with it.

Then to All the Light a song about nature and the choice we have to see the destruction of it and turn it into light.

Finally the album ends with The Reveal, which is my personal favorite of the album. It is the final transformation of emotion into life.

One of the only struggles I had with the album was the title. Big thanks to my gorgeous and intelligent girlfriend, Michele Rodriguez, for coming up with the title Anew. It fits perfectly and also reflects upon how much our relationship helped make this album possible.

My cousin’s husband Daniel Beltrá created the album cover. This is not a photoshopped piece, but an unaltered aerial photograph of the Amazon rainforest. He was on assignment for Greenpeace when he happened to be flying by this unique tree amongst the green. Please check out his stunning and important work on climate change, deforestation, the raw beauty of nature, and the impact of humanity on the changing world.

Huge thanks to my team and especially my manger, Jacob Ottmann, for all the help making this release possible.

I truly hope you enjoy this album and I look forward to any feedback or responses on how this album makes you feel. CDs coming soon and vinyl soon after.


released March 1, 2019

All songs and vocals produced by Random Rab except Winter Leaves which was written with David Peter Mellish.

All instrumental performances by Random Rab except Infinities which features drums by Tommy Capel (Sidecar Tommy) and Winter Leaves which features acoustic guitar by David Peter Melish

The artwork is a photo of the Amazon rain forest taken by Daniel Beltrá

This album was produced and mastered by Random Rab in Ashland, Oregon at Random Studios


all rights reserved